CWA Daggers 2018: Winners announced

I’ve just returned from a short trip to London for the CWA Daggers awards do last night, recognising the best in crime fiction from the last year.

It was a great night – a room full of authors, agents, publishers, journalists and crime fiction fans.


Me (far right) with Harvill Secker commissioning editor Sara Adams (far left) and my publicist Anna Redman Aylward. Pic by Gary Stratmann.

I was (and still am) very humbled to have been shortlisted for the Steel Dagger (for the year’s best thriller) amongst such fantastic names. The award was picked up by Attica Locke for her novel Bluebird, Bluebird – massive congratulations, Attica!


From my team at Harvill Secker, there were two wins – Denise Mina picked up the award for best short story and the late Henning Mankell won the international award with After the Fire. His translator Marlaine Delargy was there to collect the award and I loved getting the chance to chat to her about the intracies of her work, translating Swedish crime fiction into English. It seems to be an art in itself.

More congratulations should go to the Gold Dagger winner Steve Cavanagh (for best crime novel of the year), and Michael Connelly, who was awarded the prestigious Diamond Dagger for his significant contribution to the genre.

A full list of winners is available here.


One thought on “CWA Daggers 2018: Winners announced

  1. So pleased you were able to attend and be honored. We celebrate your first novel being nominated, and we are proud to see you in such good company. Thanks for this report on how the evening went.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s